Prophets Of Rage – Prophets Of Rage

“We’re an elite task force of revolutionary musicians determined to confront this mountain of election year bullshit, and confront it head-on with Marshall stacks blazing.” This description of Prophets Of Rage came courtesy of guitarist Tom Morello in an interview with Rolling Stone. He’s joined by his Rage Against The Machine/Audioslave bandmates Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk alongside two members of Public Enemy (DJ Lord and Chuck D) and rapper B-Real of Cypress Hill. They’ve come together to rage at the political elite through fat riffs, foundation-shaking bass lines and cynical lyrics.

Unfortunately, they’re a little late to the party in terms of criticism of the Trump administration. This isn’t their fault; albums take time. However, the results are mixed. As with a lot of “supergroups”, they can’t quite capture the magic which the groups they’re best known for have achieved. This is particularly true of the RATM boys who are already known for being members of the greatest rap-rock band of all time. So why bother trying to recapture their 90s success under a similar guise with different vocalists?

The impact begins to wane around half-way through the album.

Well, despite many people crying out in nostalgic despair for Zack de la Rocha’s vocal, Chuck D and B-Real do a decent job here. Even if their rapped judgments aren’t exactly cryptic as on ‘Unfuck The World’ with “No Hatred/Fuck Racists” and “I will show you clowns how we ground and pound” on ‘Fired A Shot’, they add their own unique anger to the rage.

The riffs are mostly great with a funky-edge which Morello and Commerford have always brought to every album they’ve done. Ultimately though, the impact begins to wane around half-way through the album. I marched under the Prophets’ banner until the potential bite gave way to the bark and the message was lost. Much in the same way Trump supporters have suddenly changed their opinions. 

Noteworthy Details

Rage Against The Machine-Lite
Late to the Trump-bashing party
Some great riffs and bass lines




Track List
1. Radical Eyes
2. Unfuck The World
3. Legalize Me
4. Living On The 110
5. The Counteroffensive
6. Hail To The Chief
7. Take Me Higher
8. Strength In Numbers
9. Fired A Shot
10. Who Owns Who
11. Hands Up
12. Smashit