Public Service Broadcasting – They Gave Me A Lamp

Public Service Broadcasting ventured into space on their last album and now they’re burrowing underground. I’m starting to wonder if they have a problem with the Earth’s surface. Mind you, their music remains uplifting as ever. Focusing on the rise and decline of the Welsh coal mining industry Every Valley¬†aims to document the community spirit created by an industry and the impact of that industry becoming obsolete. ‘They Gave Me A Lamp’ is about a political awakening and the empowerment of women – topics which remain relevant today. It incorporates their much-loved brass section to full effect in the same way ‘Everest’ did on their debut album back in 2013.

However, the distinct similarities between this and ‘Progress’ beg the question of whether J. Willgoose, Esq. and co. have created an album as diverse as its predecessors.

Words: Will Hunt

Label: Play It Again Sam




Every Valley

Released: 7th July 2017

Track List
1. Every Valley
2. The Pit
3. People Will Always Need Coal
4. Progress
5. Go To The Road
6. All Out
7. Turn No More
8. They Gave Me A Lamp
9. You + Me
10. Mother Of The Village
11. Take Me Home