The Amazons – The Amazons

There’s no denying that indie rock is alive and kicking. A wave of young bands is producing ear-catching melodies and choruses by the truckload. The likes of Catfish & The Bottlemen, Circa Waves and The Night Café leading the way. Excitement for Berkshire four-piece The Amazons inevitably grew when tracks like ‘Junk Food Forever’ and ‘In My Mind’ hit the airwaves. With this indie revival comes fierce competition, but there is by no means a clear winner. So do the Amazons have what it takes to deliver any sort of knockout blow?

Based on first impressions, I don’t think so. Most of the album strikes me fairly static and uninspired – stuck in a time warp trying to recapture a sound from the mid-noughties. ‘Junk Food Forever’ is a case in point for its vapid lyricism and desperate attempt at radio-hit status. There’s very little identity to speak of with The Amazons.

If The Amazons hope to be worthy players in the modern rock arena, they are going to have to do a lot better.

There are moments which stand out. ‘Burn My Eyes’ displays some nice grunge-style guitar work while ‘In My Mind’ sees guitarist Chris Alderton flex his lead muscles to great effect. However, it takes more than youthful exuberance and nods to genre history to make a great band. I can honestly say that if I heard a song like ‘Raindrops’ in my local record store I wouldn’t be able to identify its creators. As well the guitar, drums and bass seemingly being fixed on some sort of “generic indie” preset, vocalist Matt Thomson also offers nothing original or dynamic. 

‘Little Something’ rolls along with frantic fury while ‘Black Magic’ channels a vibe reminiscent of The Black Keys and ‘Palace’ desperately tries to be an introspective ballad. They are all as equally forgettable as each other. If The Amazons hope to be worthy players in the modern rock arena, they are going to have to do a lot better.


By Will Hunt

Noteworthy Details

Fleeting moments of guitar prowess
Nothing original to speak of
A bunch of easily forgettable songs




Track List
1. Stay With Me
2. Burn My Eyes
3. In My Mind
4. Junk Food Forever
5. Raindrops
6. Black Magic
7. Ultraviolet
8. Little Something
9. Holy Roller
10. Something In The Water
11. Palace