Gorillaz are back! – Four new singles

In addition to sharing details of their first album in six years, Gorillaz have released four new singles to whet fans’ appetites. ‘Andromeda’, ‘Saturnz Barz’, ‘We Got The Power’ and ‘Ascension’ offer a change in sound from their debut through to 2010’s Plastic Beach. They appear to have opted for a hip-hop/R&B-dominated sound. Only ‘Andromeda’ sounds vaguely familiar to past productions due to Damon Albarn taking the vocal driving seat rather than D.R.A.M.

It’s all very dark and gloomy, which Gorillaz have often delved into on their records. However, the other singles somehow feel tainted. Influenced by sudden and shocking changes in the world, I hope that they haven’t sacrificed song quality for threadbare inspiration on this album. Jehnny Beth does a nice job on the anomaly that is ‘We Got The Power’ – a possible hint that there are upbeat moments to be found on Humanz. Vince Staples and Popcaan also work reasonably well on their respective tracks, even if they’re not necessarily to my taste. Overall, these amuse-bouches leave me hoping the main course is a lot more satisfying.

Words: Will Hunt

Label: Parlophone Records



Andromeda (feat. D.R.A.M.) – 7/10

Saturnz Barz (feat. Popcaan) – 4/10

Ascension (feat. Vince Staples) – 5/10

We Got The Power (feat. Jehnny Beth) – 7/10

Humanz Track List – Collaboration Overload!!! – Released April 28th

1. ‘Ascension’ ft. Vince Staples
2. ‘Strobelite’ ft. Peven Everett
3. ‘Saturnz Barz’ ft. Popcaan
4. ‘Momentz’ ft. De La Soul
5. ‘Submission’ ft. Danny Brown and Kelela
6. ‘Charger’ ft. Grace Jones
7. ‘Andromeda’ ft. D.R.A.M.
8. ‘Busted and Blue’
9. ‘Carnival’ ft. Anthony Hamilton
10. ‘Let Me Out’ ft. Mavis Staples and Pusha T
11. ‘Sex Murder Party’ ft. Jamie Principle and Zebra Katz
12. ‘She’s My Collar’ ft. Kali Uchis
13. ‘Hallelujah Money’ ft. Benjamin Clementine
14. ‘We Got The Power’ ft. Jehnny Beth

Deluxe edition:
15. ‘The Apprentice’ ft. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz, and RAY BLK
16. ‘Halfway To The Halfway House’ ft. Peven Everett
17. ‘Out Of Body’ ft. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz, and Imani Vonshà
18. ‘Ticker Tape’ ft. Carly Simon and Kali Uchis
19. ‘Circle Of Friendz’ ft. Brandon Markell Holmes